

Telephone (603) 673-8855, ext. 213 Fax (603) 673-8136

TOWN OF BROOKLINE, NEW HAMPSHIRE SELECTBOARD

P.O. BOX 360 – 1 Main Street BROOKLINE, NH 03033-0360

Selectboard@brookline.nh.us

http://www.brookline.nh.us

Minutes Selectboard Monday, October 15, 2018

Selectboard members present: Brendan Denehy, Eddie Arnold, Tom Humphreys, Valerie Ogden and Ron Olsen along with Town Administrator Tad Putney. Also present: Steve Russo, Roger Ogden and Peter Cook.

6:30pm Brendan opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Set 2018 Tax Rate

Tad reviewed two handouts with historic tax rate setting information from 2012 – 2018. The first scenario assumed no funds from the unassigned fund balance were used to reduce the tax rate. The second scenario assumed the use of \$43,000 of the unassigned fund balance to reduce the tax rate. Tad also shared a town-by-town list of the "retainage percentages" each NH town reported from 2016, which showed Brookline's latest percentage of 1.69% would be among the lowest of the towns. **Eddie** said he is not comfortable using unassigned funds this year given the retainage percentage is so low. Brendan agreed. Val said the Town needs to be proactive with regard to identifying potential risks that are not covered by insurance. **Tom** said he is not getting the value for what he is paying in taxes and noted he is paying \$4,000 more in taxes than when he bought his home. Ron said we need to make serious efforts to reduce spending and start planning for expenses five years ahead by putting money away. Roger asked if last March's warrant article funds for the fire truck, which are contingent on receiving a grant, are in the unassigned fund balance. **Brendan** said no. Eddie moved, seconded by Ron, to not use unassigned fund balance monies and set the tax rate at \$29.86; Voted Yes 3-2; Tom and Val voted no. Tad noted that the tax rate is not official until the Department of Revenue Administration signs off on it. Eddie moved, seconded by Ron, to adjourn the meeting; Voted Yes 5-0.

6:5/pm meeting adjourned.	Minutes submitted by Sharon Sturtevant.
Brendan Denehy	Tom Humphreys
Valerie Ogden	Eddie Arnold
Ron Olsen	